> MORE NEWS > Zedan Polo Team wins the McLaren Cup 2018

Zedan Polo Team wins the McLaren Cup 2018

Photo credit: Gonzalo Etcheverry/DPGC 2018. 

Zedan Polo Team is the new champion of the Mc Laren Cup, the first trophy of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series 2018, 18-goals handicap competition, after defeating Bin Drai Polo in the final by 9 goals to 8.5 this afternoon at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club.

It was an exciting final day with a perfect ending for a great tournament. Zedan achieved another trophy, and it ́s the fourth title in a row in the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series, after winning the Gold Cup in 2015 and 2017 and the Silver Cup in 2016 and 2018.

Pablo Mac Donough, ten goaler La Dolfina superstar, once again was the hero after scoring a 30-yard penalty in the last action of the final to give Zedan the victory. A worked up triumph against Bin Drai who fought really hard and had their chances to win the game.

The talent of Mac Donough to twist a match that with 38 seconds to go was almost lost and to score the winning goal from the 30 yards made the difference.

A big applause for Bin Drai who played a great match, with Raúl Laplacette as the MVP and top scorer of the final with 5 goals and also his horse Cruzeiro awarded as the Best Playing Pony.

Final Match Progression

Zedan– 1-2.5/ 6-2.5/ 6-4.5/ 6-7.5/ 9-8.5

Before the final of the McLaren Cup, Habtoor Polo Team defeated UAE Polo by 11 goals to 8 to win the Hildon Cup. Bautista Urbina (Habtoor) and Polito Pieres (UAE) were the top scorers of the match with 5 goals each.

Match Progression
Habtoor Polo– 3-0/ 7-2/ 8-5/ 9-7/ 11-8




Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series

Gold Cup from 16 February to 9 March, The Dubai Challenge Cup from 14 to 23 March, and The Dubai Cup from 6 to 13 April 2018.

The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series is the fourth-largest tournament of its kind after Argentina, the United States and the United Kingdom. Founded by Mohammed Al Habtoor in 2009, the tournament is the premier regional polo competition of the year, attracting VIPs, society figures, and senior corporate executives from across the region. It has grown in tandem with the city of Dubai, and since 2012 it is the only tournament in the United Arab Emirates to be recognized and certified by the World Polo Tour (WPT). It is played under the banner of the Hurlingham Polo Association (HPA), with the tournaments being played under strict international supervision according to the HPA rules and provision of its umpires.

Mohammed Al Habtoor, Founder of the Gold Cup Series and patron of the Habtoor Polo team, said, “This year there are six teams playing in the McLaren Cup. The participating teams will host some of the top- ranking world polo tour players, including Pablo Mac Donough, the 10-goal superstar and three-time Triple Crown Champion with La Dolfina; Polito Pieres, another 10-goal figure and winner of the 2012 Gold Cup in England; Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario [8-goal handicap]; Francisco Elizalde [ 8-goal handicap]; Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario [8-goal handicap], and many others who have come directly from Argentine Open.”

The final of the McLaren Cup will take place on 9 February 2018 from 1pm at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club, located in Dubai Land.

The six participating teams in The McLaren Cup 2018:

  • Zedan Polo Team (Patron: Amr Zedan)
  • Bin Drai Polo Team (Patron: Rashid Bin Drai)
  • Habtoor Polo Team (Patron: Mohammed Al Habtoor)
  • Mahra Polo Team (Patron: Rashid Al Habtoor)
  • UAE Polo Team (Patron: Her Highness Sheikha Maitha Bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum)
  • Wolves Polo Team (Patron: Habtoor Al Habtoor)

Related posts

Leave a comment

I want to share this
I want to share this
I want to share this
// (function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-8381116-3', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');