> MORE NEWS > Zedan and Bin Drai will play the final of the McLaren Cup 2018

Zedan and Bin Drai will play the final of the McLaren Cup 2018

Photo credit: Gonzalo Etcheverry/DPGC 2018.  

Zedan and Bin Drai are the finalists of the Mc Laren Cup, the first trophy of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series 2018, 18-goals handicap competition, after winning their semifinal matches this afternoon at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club.

In an exciting double action day, Zedan defeated Mahra by 10 goals to 6.5 while Bin Drai did the same against Wolves by a close 7.5 to 7.

Pablo Mac Donough, ten goaler La Dolfina superstar, made once again the difference after a superb third chukker that turned the game in favor of Zedan.

After two even chukkers, Mac Donough started the chukker on his mare Paloma and this perfect combination never fails. Zedan Polo Team took control of the game and achieved a 3-goal gap that was decisive for the rest of the game.

Mahra fought till the very end but Zedan’s victory was never in danger and deservedly qualified to the McLaren Cup final.

Match Progression

Zedan- 2-2.5/ 4-3.5/ 7-3.5/ 8-4.5/ 10-6.5

Top Scorer of the match: Pablo Mac Donough (Zedan) 6 goals

The second semifinal of the day faced two teams with similar skills and the final result of the match shows it clearly.

A half goal handicap difference in favor of Bin Drai was vital for the final victory of patron Sunil Bin Drai, which in today ́s match replaced injured Rashid Bin Drai.

Both teams battled during the five chukkers but it was Bin Drai the one that took the last ticket to the final of the McLaren Cup.

Match Progression
Bin Drai– 2.5-1/ 4.5-2/ 4.5-4/ 6.5-5/ 7.5-7
Top Scorer of the match: Raúl Laplacette (Bin Drai) and Manuel Crespo (Wolves) 4 goals


Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series

The final day of the McLaren Cup will be held next Friday, (February 9th) at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club with Habtoor Polo playing against UAE Polo the final of the Hildon Cup from 2 pm and Zedan vs Bin Drai for the McLaren Cup final.

Five high-goal tournaments fall under the umbrella of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series: The McLaren Cup, which runs from 26 January to 9 February, The Polo Masters Cup from 10 to 15 February, The Julius Baer Gold Cup from 16 February to 9 March, The Dubai Challenge Cup from 14 to 23 March, and The Dubai Cup from 6 to 13 April 2018.

The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series is the fourth-largest tournament of its kind after Argentina, the United States and the United Kingdom. Founded by Mohammed Al Habtoor in 2009, the tournament is the premier regional polo competition of the year, attracting VIPs, society figures, and senior corporate executives from across the region. It has grown in tandem with the city of Dubai, and since 2012 it is the only tournament in the United Arab Emirates to be recognized and certified by the World Polo Tour (WPT). It is played under the banner of the Hurlingham Polo Association (HPA), with the tournaments being played under strict international supervision according to the HPA rules and provision of its umpires.

Mohammed Al Habtoor, Founder of the Gold Cup Series and patron of the Habtoor Polo team, said, “This year there are six teams playing in the McLaren Cup. The participating teams will host some of the top- ranking world polo tour players, including Pablo Mac Donough, the 10-goal superstar and three-time Triple Crown Champion with La Dolfina; Polito Pieres, another 10-goal figure and winner of the 2012 Gold Cup in England; Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario [8-goal handicap]; Francisco Elizalde [ 8-goal handicap]; Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario [8-goal handicap], and many others who have come directly from Argentine Open.”

The final of the McLaren Cup will take place on 9 February 2018 from 1pm at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club, located in Dubai Land.

The six participating teams in The McLaren Cup 2018:

  • Zedan Polo Team (Patron: Amr Zedan)
  • Bin Drai Polo Team (Patron: Rashid Bin Drai)
  • Habtoor Polo Team (Patron: Mohammed Al Habtoor)
  • Mahra Polo Team (Patron: Rashid Al Habtoor)
  • UAE Polo Team (Patron: Her Highness Sheikha Maitha Bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum)
  • Wolves Polo Team (Patron: Habtoor Al Habtoor)

Related posts

Leave a comment

I want to share this
I want to share this
I want to share this
// (function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-8381116-3', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');