> MORE NEWS > UAE Polo wins and joins the battle for the semifinals qualifying round

UAE Polo wins and joins the battle for the semifinals qualifying round

Photos by Gonzalo Etcheverry/DPGC 2018. 

UAE Polo achieved a vital win against Bin Drai by 7 goals to 6 in today ́s match for the six day of action for the McLaren Cup, the opening trophy of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series 2018, 18- goals handicap competition, at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club.

With this victory, HH Sheika Maitha Al Maktoum ́s team joins the battle for the remaining three places in the semifinals. With today ́s first two points, UAE Polo equals Habtoor, Wolves, Bin Drai and Zedan.

Tomorrow ́s last qualification matches will clear up the situation but there ́s still a lot to decide. A victory will put Wolves, who plays against Mahra (already classified) in semifinals, the same for Habtoor or Zedan, which play against each other. Meanwhile, UAE and Bin Drai will be expectant of what happens.

Match Progression

UAE: 1-2/2-2/ 4-2/ 6-5/ 7-6

Top scorer of the match: Polito Pieres (UAE) with 5 goals.

The McLaren Cup will continue tomorrow with a double action day at the Al Habtoor Polo Club & Resort that will start at 2 pm with Wolves facing Mahra in field 1 followed by Habtoor Polo against Zedan in field 2.


Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series

Five high-goal tournaments fall under the umbrella of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series: The McLaren Cup, which runs from 26 January to 9 February, The Polo Masters Cup from 10 to 15 February, The Julius Baer Gold Cup from 16 February to 9 March, The Dubai Challenge Cup from 14 to 23 March, and The Dubai Cup from 6 to 13 April 2018.

The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series is the fourth-largest tournament of its kind after Argentina, the United States and the United Kingdom. Founded by Mohammed Al Habtoor in 2009, the tournament is the premier regional polo competition of the year, attracting VIPs, society figures, and senior corporate executives from across the region. It has grown in tandem with the city of Dubai, and since 2012 it is the only tournament in the United Arab Emirates to be recognized and certified by the World Polo Tour (WPT). It is played under the banner of the Hurlingham Polo Association (HPA), with the tournaments being played under strict international supervision according to the HPA rules and provision of its umpires.

Mohammed Al Habtoor, Founder of the Gold Cup Series and patron of the Habtoor Polo team, said, “This year there are six teams playing in the McLaren Cup. The participating teams will host some of the top- ranking world polo tour players, including Pablo Mac Donough, the 10-goal superstar and three-time Triple Crown Champion with La Dolfina; Polito Pieres, another 10-goal figure and winner of the 2012 Gold Cup in England; Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario [8-goal handicap]; Francisco Elizalde [ 8-goal handicap]; Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario [8-goal handicap], and many others who have come directly from Argentine Open.”

The final of the McLaren Cup will take place on 9 February 2018 from 1pm at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club, located in Dubai Land.

The six participating teams in The McLaren Cup 2018:

  • Zedan Polo Team (Patron: Amr Zedan)
  • Bin Drai Polo Team (Patron: Rashid Bin Drai)
  • Habtoor Polo Team (Patron: Mohammed Al Habtoor)
  • Mahra Polo Team (Patron: Rashid Al Habtoor)
  • UAE Polo Team (Patron: Her Highness Sheikha Maitha Bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum)
  • Wolves Polo Team (Patron: Habtoor Al Habtoor)

Related posts

Leave a comment

I want to share this
I want to share this
I want to share this
// (function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-8381116-3', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');