> MORE NEWS > Habtoor Polo also makes it to the semifinals of the Mc Laren Cup

Habtoor Polo also makes it to the semifinals of the Mc Laren Cup

Report and photos by Gonzalo Etcheverry/DPGC 2017. 

Habtoor Polo, team made up by patron Mohammed Al Habtoor, Juan Zubiaurre, Tomás Beresford and Nicolás Pieres, makes it to the semifinales of the McLaren Cup.

In today´s matches held in the Al Habtoor Polo Resort, Habtoor Polo defeated Desert Palm by 9 goals to 8 and with 3 victories in a row goes straight to the semifinals to join already qualified Bin Drai Polo Team.

Desert Palm, UAE Polo, Mahra and Zedan will play quarterfinal matches for the remaining two places in the final round.

Habtoor Polo and Desert Palm played a thrilling match, with a great polo level and both teams struggling till the end to achieve the victory.

It was a very even game, match progression shows that it was so, with Ellerstina ten goaler player Nicolás Pieres leading the Habtoor Team and Alejo Taranco playing in a great level with Desert Palm.

In the last seven minutes patron Mohammed Al Habtoor´s team took the chances they had to score and achieved the victory by 9 goals to 8 that also gave them the ticket to the semifinals of the McLaren Cup.

Nico Pieres was the top scorer of the match with 6 goals and Tommy Beresford the MVP.

Match progression:

Habtoor: 2-0/ 3-4/ 5-5/ 6-7/ 9-8

In the first match of the day, UAE Polo achieved a great victory based in an effective teamwork against a Wolves team that couldn´t find the way to stop superstar Lucas Monteverde and his teammates.

UAE Polo defeated Wolves by 10 goals to 6 with Monteverde as the MVP and Manuel Crespo (Wolves) as the top scorer of the match with 6 goals.

Match progression:

UAE: 0-0/ 3-0/ 5-2/ 9-3/ 10-6

The McLaren Cup will continue tomorrow at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort with a single match starting at 4pm held by Mahra vs Zedan.

Seven polo teams will be participating in the McLaren Cup 2017 18-goal handicap:

  • Mahra Polo – Patron: Rashid Al Habtoor
  • Bin Drai Polo Team – Patron: Saeed Bin Drai
  • Habtoor Polo Team – Patron: Mohammed Al Habtoor
  • UAE Polo Team – Patron: Her Highness Sheikha Maitha bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum
  • Zedan Polo Team – Patron: Amr Zedan
  • Habtoor Wolves Polo Team – Patron: Habtoor Al Habtoor
  • Desert Palm Polo Team – Tariq Albwardy


Related posts

Leave a comment

I want to share this
I want to share this
I want to share this
I want to share this
// (function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-8381116-3', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');